Blessed, or Cursed?

16 03 2012

Like I said a few days ago, I got this temporary four-day job here in KC because I figured the firm in question was anticipating a lot of basketball tourney absenteeism.  That turned out to be a correct supposition on my part, but there was another reason:  Mizzou is (or was) in the tourney, and their opening round game was this afternoon.  The joint was practically empty, and even many of those that were here weren’t really, if you know what I mean.

I clocked out at six, and ye olde smartphone told me Mizzou lost, in an opening round upset, a 15 seed beating a 2 seed in Mizzou.

Tee hee.

So not only am I going to make a lot of money by the time I’m done tomorrow afternoon, (dragging back across the state after I clock out), if this firm has to make cutbacks in the near future, I hope they remember all their employees in their KC office that were too “sick” to work yesterday and today.  I would say that I hope they remember their trusty St. Louisan if they want to hire anyone in their place, but I’m starting a semi-permanent job on May 1 that I hope will turn permanent.

I know, I really shouldn’t be this sadistic, not in this economy.

I knew Mizzou wouldn’t go far in the tourney when Obama had them in the Final Four.

Actions

Information

9 responses

16 03 2012
john

Good luck to you in the job search. I’ve told people my inspiration is half my age. They don’t get it. I just say, “google countenance”. Thanks

16 03 2012
countenance

If your inspiration is half your age, Google “Countenance,” does that mean you turn 70 at the end of this month?

:)

17 03 2012
john

60. The bones feel 70.

17 03 2012
countenance

John,

I think I know what you meant. Several days ago, my back felt about 45, and that precluded that day’s workout.

17 03 2012
chuck

For God’s sakes, please help me fight the fight on TKC, or

http://www.tonyskansascity.com/

your ten times smarter than I am. I can’t do it alone. The bastard gets 25,000 hits a day, unique and we need the truth.

HELP!!!

17 03 2012
countenance

I don’t waste my time with unhinged incorrigible libkooks. Before I leave today, though, if I find “Tony,” I’ll lure him into my car on a pretext, head back to my side of the state, then leave him off at that “hospital” on Arsenal Street.

17 03 2012
rjp

I can’t believe anyone would call in sick so they could watch a basketball game. ….. trying to remember the last time I was sick and took a sick day ….

I remember I used a sick day back in 2001 to have my kidneys imaged.

Are you looking for a job as a CPA?

17 03 2012
countenance

Need about a year more of accounting work experience and six more graduate hours, then I can sit for the CPA.

But my new job starting May 1 isn’t in accounting. I’ll tell you what it is in an e-mail. It’s none of the world’s business.

17 03 2012
rjp

I forgot you had a job starting in May.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,706 other followers

