10,000

24 06 2012

The day has finally come. Speaking of days, it only took me 3,205 days since the first post on this blog to get to ten thousand posts. Some of you followed me here from my e-mail newsletter that I have been doing since 1998. It was an easy transition to go from an e-mail newsletter to the blogosphere, because the nature of blogging is right in the wheelhouse of my snarky personality and my propagandic writing style.

The best news? The Day of the Ten Thousandth Post comes on the only day out of the next handful when I’m not on the road or working. Which means I can spend all day partying…unless I won’t…I’ll actually be resting to recharge my battery for the coming week.

I’m glad that after all this time, people are finally starting to pay attention to my screaming in the wilderness. Here’s hoping that in the course of the next 10,000 posts, Countenance Blog becomes a household name.

And I thank each and every one of you for putting up with me 10,000 times over.

And, proof that I’m telling the truth about this being the 10,000th post (click to enlarge):

Actions

Information

17 responses

24 06 2012
rjp

Got to love the helpful tip to the left of your 10,000th post message.

24 06 2012
rjp

Well done btw, most people burn out before 1000.

24 06 2012
countenance

I’m not seeing the tip to the left that you mention. Maybe it’s my browser. UPDATE: I think you mean my browser screenshot proving this is the 10kth post, on the WordPress backend. “Proofread carefully…”

Just a slight point of order: This particular formal blog has existed since December 2005, but I transferred all my posts on an informal weblog from September 15, 2003 until December 2005 onto this real blog. Like I say in my Disclaimer/FAQ section, this URL was once the URL for the St. Louis CofCC Blog. It has not been since mid-2007, even though the posts made before then are still up.

Since I know you, if you want, I will send you the URL of the archives of my e-mailed newsletter, if you want. Though I doubt you’re much interested in old news.

24 06 2012
Extropico

Congratulations on your milestone. I’ll reiterate rjp’s point by wondering how you don’t get burnout from boredom or having to address life’s other pressures.

24 06 2012
countenance

Look in the pulldown menu under “Archives” on the right sidebar. Each month has the number of posts I did in that month (or have done so far in the current month). You’ll notice that I sorta ebb and flow. Ever since I hit 9,000 posts on March 22, (see: http://countenance.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/never-make-jokes-about-what-liberals-will-do/) I’ve actually sorta kept my foot on the gas because I wanted to get to 10,000 sooner rather than later. Now that my odometer has rolled over on the fifth digit, I’m going to slow down some. But…I have nine stories in the hopper for tomorrow morning, so I might not be slowing down that much.

24 06 2012
countenance

April 3, 2021 is when I’ll hit 20k if it takes me as long to do the next 10k as it did the first 10k. Just past my 44th birthday. Tempus stop fugiting!

24 06 2012
Extropico

Ars longa, vita brevis.

24 06 2012
countenance

“Ars longa” as long as WordPress lasts.

24 06 2012
Extropico

Memento mori.

24 06 2012
Olave d'Estienne

Holy smoke, that’s a lot.
I think I am over 100. So there!

24 06 2012
countenance

I looked, you did 139 in 3 years between June 1 2009 and June 1 2012. So it’ll take you about 212 more years to get to 10,000.

No bother, though. Quality over quantity.

24 06 2012
BT

Yay!!! Blogging’s tough. I wish I was still doing it. Not nearly the time I’d like to have to put in it. I’d have to change my blog – and did – but only posted once or twice there. [Someday I'll count how many I did at my old place: Stilettos in the Sand. If you're ever bored...] And you wait, Countenance WILL be a household name in coming years. I think many of us have just had it up to here and enough is enough! Congrats!!!

24 06 2012
countenance

1162 posts, if it’s the blogspot version of Stilettos in the Sand.

25 06 2012
BT

Hmmph. Only 1162. Seems like it was a whole lot more at the time…

24 06 2012
Puggg

Is the cat a reward for 10,000 posts? If so, I should start a blog.

Supreme Court will be really active this week. That should get you a good head start to 20,000 :)

Not too many non-professional (in terms of those who aren’t paid for blogging) blogs can rightfully claim 10,000 posts. You don’t have an ad banner and don’t panhandle so I doubt you make money from this. Congrats. And…I hope for more house tours soon!

24 06 2012
Puggg

BTW What’s Pale Moon Browser?

24 06 2012
countenance

You’re not the only one who likes the House Tour posts. Note “Top Posts” on the right sidebar near the top, it’s a count of my posts with the most hits in the last 72 hours. All four house tour posts have been ranked 2 through 5 for about two weeks. That “Nice Timing Guys” posts has been #1 for a long time, why I have no idea, but c’est la vie.

I think my next house tour will be around Carondelet Park.

Re SCOTUS: I get the feeling that the opinions for ObamaCare and SB 1070 will be long. Ironically, severability is an issue in both cases, but for different reasons: The individual mandate is so intertwined into ObamaCare that if they bork the IM then they have no choice but to sink all ObamaCare, that’s how poorly it was written from a legislative standpoint. SB 1070 not only has a severability clause, but it’s so well written that it doesn’t need one, because it’s a consortium of parallel and discrete immigration-related language. ObamaCare is a house of cards, SB 1070 is trail mix, to speak metaphorically.

Pale Moon Browser is a customized version of Firefox for newer versions of Windows (XP SP2+, Vista, 7) and newer CPUs (all multi-core, many newer single core), which is somewhat faster than stock Firefox on Windows.

http://www.palemoon.org/




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,717 other followers

