Swag Bag

30 12 2012

St. Louis

There are dozens of useless college bowl games.  I’m surprised someone has never gotten the idea to put one in St. Louis.

Almost every bowl game as a gift bag for every player that participates in it.

If St. Louis had a bowl game, player swag bags would have to include, at the very least, gift certificates for:

*  Charlie Gitto’s on The Hill toasted ravioli, rumored to be the original but definitely the best

*  Ooey gooey butter cake from Park Avenue Coffee in Lafayette Square, just as good as anyone’s and more varieties to choose from than anywhere

*  Imo’s Pizza.  Yes, I’m partial to Fortel’s, but Imo’s is the best stereotypically St. Louis pizza, very thin crust and cut up in rectangles.

*  Any given renovation company to give your house a new kitchen zinc and a new warshing machine.  (Inside joke)

Who wants to help me out with unique St. Louis items for the swag bag?

 

Actions

Information

10 responses

30 12 2012
31 12 2012
Robin

Maybe a remote control river boat, something with Clydesdales on it, classic Sweet Meat (KSHE) t-shirt, Mama’s Pride and/or Head East album.

31 12 2012
countenance

If you put beer in the swag bag, the anti-alcohol dorks will bitch a fit (many college athletes aren’t yet 21). If KSHE’s pig on the T-shirts is smoking a joint, more dorks will bitch a fit. BTW, KSHE was totally ruined in 2012.

1 01 2013
Robin

I thought you were looking for gag gifts. That said, I’d definitely go with the KSHE pig with the roach in his mouth…what else?

That said, I’d like your opinion on the feeding frenzy on ‘Rosebud’ yesterday on AmRen. She was definitely locked and loaded for a fight but admitted on two posts that she was a ‘proud w.’ I’d like your thoughts on the responses to her, including mine.

I instinctively cringed at some of the verbiage used (they were saying mudshark, coalburner, ape) but challenged her just as well. I think we need a gentle way to suggest that we weigh our words when confronted with opposition. A Dale Carnegie method of perhaps finding some point of an opposing argument with which to agree, and using that as leverage to validate our own message. Your thoughts?

1 01 2013
countenance

Which thread?

1 01 2013
Robin

You probably can tell by now hehe, but it’s the kim kardashian thread.

1 01 2013
countenance

I’ve made my one contribution to that thread, nothing more. All of a sudden, that one has blown up to more than 400 comments. What is up with a KarTRASHian story on AR of all places getting so many comments? There was an Asian themed story a few weeks ago that got almost to 400. And you know that since the KarTRASHian story is only one day old, it’ll easily zoom past 500, maybe 600.

1 01 2013
Robin

I check amren every afternoon and noticed that this thread got off to a real quick start yesterday. It really picked up when a girl with the screen name ‘Rosebud’ started wagging her finger at some of the commenters with the standard ‘we can love anyone we want’ stuff, and then there was a full on offensive.

I’m not sure but I think I saw her comment before on other things, and she actually sympathized with w. identity so initially I was cringing at some of the things being said. Not because I’m offended, but because it seemed to cement the stereotype of ‘racist white men trying to control white women’ that young girls swallow wholesale. I usually don’t comment much but I got in on it as well. Kinda seems like a lost opportunity.

2 01 2013
2 01 2013
Robin

Actually, I responded to that thread as well, maybe that’s where I recognized her screen name? As usual I see you got about 30 thumbs up. On the kardashian thread I thought I had some good responses but she deleted most of her original comments where we had exchanges. She was loaded for bear but I thought she could of easily been handled in a better way by (most of) the others. Not that they were wrong at all but some finesse would of gone a lot farther with someone like her than a full out Blitzkrieg. I honestly kept hoping that you and a few of my other favorite commenters would chime in during the frenzy.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,591 other followers

