Okay, We’re Going to Give It The Ole Middle Age Try

25 05 2016

Your Blogmeister’s Desk

IRC, tonight, 7 PM Central.  I may be sorta in and out of it, and I don’t know how long I’ll want to go.

Freenode network, channel #countenanceblog.  Freenode has an online chat portal.  You’ll just enter the screen name you want to use, #countenanceblog (including the hashtag) as the channel, skip the auth-to-services box, then confirm your subhumanity.  Boom, you’re there.  If you have an IRC client and know how to use it, all the better.  I can only provide help on what I use, mIRC, and even at that, it has been a very long time, so my mIRC proficiency is rusty.

However, my chatroom snark skills, probably better than ever.


Actions

Information

14 responses

25 05 2016
Hard Right

We’re up and running if anybody wants to give it a try.

25 05 2016
The Gentle Grizzly

It is 18:31 Pacific. I tried, but found no one home.

25 05 2016
countenance

Must have gone to the wrong place. We had some bugs and glitches, as it was.

25 05 2016
The Gentle Grizzly

I saw a screen full of traffic, then it cleared, showed it was on #countenance, but I was there alone.

25 05 2016
countenance

It’s just as well. We’re going to switch to a different network anyway, Freenode was a PITA.

25 05 2016
The Gentle Grizzly

Thanks. I’ll keep an eye out.

(“Mine onkle has a gless eye!”)

26 05 2016
Hard Right

Also, we were using #countenanceblog for the channel name.

27 05 2016
Hard Right

Rizon is pretty stable. I left a bot in there overnight. He didn’t ping out once.

@lewis33: New server on irc.rizon.net. Channel name the same:

#countenanceblog

Web interface at: https://qchat.rizon.net/

Let me know what time Saturday night. I should be able to make it.

27 05 2016
countenance

Highly unlikely I can do Saturday night, but I have no problem with everyone else going there to chat at any time. It’s just that I won’t call it an official Watering Hole episode unless I’m there and fete it that way, and when I’m there, mIRC logs the chat. I know that web based IRC clients don’t do logging.

27 05 2016
Hard Right

Sounds good, boss. Lewis mentioned something about Saturday night. Thought we could have an informal gathering there where we wouldn’t be logging and wouldn’t have to watch our language.

27 05 2016
Hard Right

I didn’t see you come in. Wondered why you didn’t get opped. Looks like you were on the web interface.

27 05 2016
countenance

I just tested the web interface.

27 05 2016
Hard Right

I believe you can actually log in your nick through the web interface, but I’ve never tested it.

27 05 2016
countenance

Rizon’s web interface does have the ability to sign in your nick with chanserv if one has already registered one’s nick with chanserv. I don’t think that’s going to be an issue for anyone but the two of us.




