RIP

5 09 2016

Ladue

choice-echo


Actions

Information

20 responses

5 09 2016
Joshua Sinistar

I wonder if this was Obama, Hillary or Bush? She clobbered Little Jebbie during his $100 Million telethon for Mental Retards from New England. She was old so I guess they figured they could get away with this. They’re pulling out all the stops huh? They must be more desperate than I thought. Good to Know.

5 09 2016
countenance

None of the above. He was 92.

6 09 2016
The Gentle Grizzly

HE was 92?

6 09 2016
countenance

I’ve made that mistake more than once just in this thread.

5 09 2016
Cecil

God bless and R.I.P. Mrs. Schlafly. She was the Mother Teresa for middle class Americans.

5 09 2016
countenance

I’ll have more later, but I got a few things to do.

5 09 2016
countenance

While she was in college, undergrad, she earned tuition money by test firing ammo for the military.

5 09 2016
countenance

Last time I talked to or saw her was back during the legislative session in 2014.

6 09 2016
6 09 2016
countenance

Few random thoughts.

(1) Would she qualify as alt-right or alt-lite? Alt-right, no. Alt-lite, I think her line drive lands right on the line.

(2) If there was a weakness in her political repertoire, it was that she couldn’t understand the struggles of working married women and mothers. I told her that point blank once, and she acknowledged it. She just happened to think that public policy should be geared to where that is not a necessity. However, that also meant that the locus of her activism was geared toward traditional nuclear families where only dad worked and mom didn’t have to. As we know, those are fewer and fewer by the year.

(3) Though she was associated with the conservative Christian movement (“religious right”), she had a significantly broader appeal than just your typical RR activist or figure. A lot of rightists who happen to be anti-Christian anti-religious and therefore who had no love of the RR in contrast liked her. The reasons for that is that religion or Christianity per se wasn’t the locus of her activism or her concern, even though she did push on issues that religiously oriented RR-ists did, and she also brought with her a focus on populist and nationalist verve on economics and other issues, which RR-ists weren’t quite so excited about even if they were on the right side of the issue. To put it another way, there was a noticeable difference between Phyllis Schlafly and James Dobson.

8 09 2016
Sometime Commenter from Chicago

Mrs. Schlafly was a true daughter of the Roman Catholic Church. That is why non-Catholics and LibCaths can’t grasp her completely.

How blessed you are to have known her! God rest her and keep her family!

8 09 2016
countenance

Her maiden name was Stewart, and her father definitely was Protestant, but her mother was Irish Catholic. I’ve heard it said that PS wasn’t feisty enough to fit the Irish Catholic stereotype. Like, excuse me? She wasn’t feisty? Maybe not in personality terms, but in all other ways.

6 09 2016
countenance

Here’s something eerie.

She died exactly a year and a half to the day after another well known (by us, anyway) St. Louis native and based figure on the activist right died. That being my one time mentor, Gordon Baum. I mention it because this very URL in this very presentation used to be the St. Louis CofCC Blog, as you can read in my FAQ section.

6 09 2016
countenance

Eagle Forum website’s statement:

Today, Phyllis Schlafly passed away in the presence of her family at her home in St. Louis, Missouri.

An iconic American leader whose love for America was surpassed only by her love of God and her family, Phyllis Schlafly, an indomitable pro-family grassroots advocate and organizer, was 92 years old. Mrs. Schlafly was preceded in death by her beloved husband Fred and is survived by six children along with 16 grand and 3 great grandchildren.

Phyllis Schlafly spent an astounding 70 years in public service of her fellow Americans. Her focus from her earliest days until her final ones was protecting the family, which she understood as the building block of life. She recognized America as the greatest political embodiment of those values. From military superiority and defense to immigration and trade; from unborn life to the nuclear family and parenthood, Phyllis Schlafly was a courageous and articulate voice for common sense and traditional values. She authored 27 books and thousands of articles. She spoke tens of thousands of times across the United States.

Her joy in life was evident to all through her smile and wit. Funeral arrangements are pending.

For more, please contact Ryan Hite at 314-721-1213 or ryan@eagleforum.org

***

Ryan Hite was Todd’s Senate campaign communications director, he’s the one who found and recruited me into the camp. Though he didn’t exactly have to do a hard sell. He read my Todd cheerleading on Twitter and got in touch with me. Well after the campaign, late in the summer of 2013, he wound up setting me up with my current job. It went like this: Someone talked to someone, who talked to someone else, who wound up talking to him, and he thought of me and my name, called me, and before I know it, I’m a lobbyist. It only proves the power and necessity of networking, and having a Big Phat Dex.

I also notice that Ed Martin got close to her in an organizational sense; I don’t trust him any further than I can throw him, and why she trusted him that much, I don’t know.

Doesn’t matter anyway, now that she’s gone, Eagle Forum is going to fall apart.

6 09 2016
Joshua Sinistar

Rather convenient she died now. I remember her taking Taco Bush and dumping his campaign into a trashcan when all the neocons were trying to hold his head above the water. Much like Justice Scalia, they are counting on age being the factor to make this not seem suspicious even though the body count with both Obama and Hillary is getting higher and higher. Maybe not as high as Chiraq, but even this level of corruption could not be as deadly as Africa.
BTW, I think even a lot of women are confused as to why they work dead end jobs to send their kids to daycare to be abused by minorities. Those kids are never going to forgive Momma throwing them into daycare Hell so they can spin their wheels professionally as barristas and waitresses. Stay at home and make a sandwich bitch. It’s probably more expensive to give PTSD to your kids by handing them over to low-brow White-Hating minorities than doing it yourself at home.

6 09 2016
countenance

http://www.anncoulter.com/columns/2016-09-05.html

Like me, she endorsed Duncan Hunter in 2008. I know that she did, and I know I did before she did, and I’d like to think I influenced her. Probably not.

6 09 2016
Pangur

RIP

7 09 2016
countenance

She may have been the only true feminist of our lifetimes.

I’m going to unpin this post some time tomorrow.

7 09 2016
Area Man

Godspeed Mrs. Schlafly.

BTW is she any relation to the brewery?

8 09 2016
countenance

She married into the Schlafly family, and various brothers, cousins and their descendants of him started the brew. In the last few years of her life, she and they were in court over that issue.




