Eric Greitens

9 11 2016

Jefferson City

It’s the biggest improbability and shock of Missouri politics in a very long time, and I mean the whole package, both his primary and general wins.  Add to it that I counted him as a no-chance non-entity several times, and because of RTW and the unions, gave him no chance in the general.

It means RTW will happen, though like I’ve been saying, it certainly won’t be the end of the world for organized labor, because I think there are many and more important factors behind this than open versus closed shop.

The state party establishment isn’t exactly welcoming him with open arms, because he, along with Attorney General-elect Josh Hawley (and, as you recall, Hawley was my only affirmative vote for a person other than Trump yesterday), have promised to drain the state legislative swamp.  With Amendment 2 passing, which restores campaign funding limits, and with Greitens/Hawley threatening to wield a big stick when it comes to all the questionable money and quasi-money that gets passed around in Jefferson City for four and a half months every year and other times, my line of work is about to become a much browner field.  With legislative term limits deterring the power of incumbency, (John Diehl’s power was an anomaly in the term limits era), Missouri politics are definitely swinging in the direction of executive branch focused.  What it also means is that I’m really ramping up my exit strategy, getting my ducks in a row to start up my startup, because I don’t think I’m long as a lobbyist.

In other downballot statewide news, there were no State Senate party flips, and Republicans will maintain a better than 2-1 supermajority in the House.  Because the statewide races were a red team sweep, this means Russ Carnahan lost, meaning the last chance to restore the Carnahan dynasty was thwarted, Jay Ashcroft won, meaning another dynasty is rising, and former Channel 4 anchor Robin Smith lost.  Of the downballot statewide Republicans, I think Treasurer-Elect Eric Schmitt has the best future prospects.

Tony Messenger co-peddled the Great Mythical Anti-Semitic Whisper Campaign of 2015 paranoia after the Tom Schweich suicide.  In the end, the Republican Governor-Elect is Jewish.

Actions

Information

8 responses

9 11 2016
Hard Right

The reason I wasn’t watching the Missouri races was because I wasn’t worried about them. I was pretty sure Greitens was going to win with a bit of an assist from Trump (and a bigger one from Obongo).

I was also pretty sure that the conservation tax and campaign finance “reform” would pass, even though I voted against them.

We had a helluva night :)

9 11 2016
countenance

There was a differential between Trump and Blunt/Greitens. However, since Trump was so far above water level, it meant that both Blunt and Greitens were themselves above.

9 11 2016
countenance

After the 2014 vote, there were 117 and 25, Rs in the House and Senate.

After the 2016 vote, there were 117 and 25, Rs in the House and Senate.

72% and 74% of the chambers, respectively.

Can’t get any more status quo than that.

9 11 2016
Hard Right

Another reason I wasn’t too worried about Greitens losing.

9 11 2016
countenance

Yeah well if you actually worked around these people like I do, you’d be a lot more jaded. Such as it is, it’s just about impossible in all practicality for these two chambers to be any more Republican.

9 11 2016
countenance

Rs sweep the statewide Presidential year top five (Gov, LtGov, AG, SoS, Treas) for the first time.

14 11 2016
countenance

Late update: The clean statewide sweep for any one party is the first in Missouri history.

12 12 2016
Can I Call ‘Em? | Countenance Blog

[…] Me, November 9: […]




