Dead Man’s Curve

5 12 2016

South City

There have been two different murders along I-55 on the south side in the past three days.  One this afternoon southbound just south of the Arsenal overpass, and the other was Saturday on the exit ramp from southbound to Bates.  Also remember that a few months ago there was a murder along southbound just before Arsenal.  Then there was the owner of Maggie O’s who was murdered along southbound just before Loughborough early last month.

Used to be that you took your life into your hands when you were on 70 between Downtown and 170.  Now I guess 55 is going to be the bellcurvey game of Russian Roulette.

It also should be noted that today’s murder was right where 55 bends past the DeMenil Mansion.  As if that joint isn’t haunted enough.

Actions

Information

8 responses

5 12 2016
countenance

I happened to take a pic of the site of today’s murder back when I was doing the house tour photos in this space. The DeMenil Mansion is the background building in about the middle of the pic, apparently above the background overpass.

5 12 2016
𝐢𝐝𝐞𝐧𝐭𝐢𝐟𝐢𝐞𝐬 𝐚𝐬: 𝓨𝓸𝓾𝓻 𝓐𝓾𝓰𝓾𝓼𝓽 𝓜𝓪𝓳𝓮𝓼𝓽𝔂

Maybe twenty five years ago, my car overheated on 55 south of Anheuser Bush. I climbed the fence and up the steep side of the highway to find someone to let me make a call. I had about eight old guys following me around and watching me call, which I thought was odd. Come to find out later that there had been rapist active in the area and folks were suspicious. So it’s not like the area has always been benign.

5 12 2016
countenance

South Side Rapist.

https://www.stlmag.com/Chasing-Rabbitt/

Today, around there, those areas are gentrifying or gentrified, and expensive. Soulard, which is north of that point and east of the highway, well, you saw my post about it a few days ago. As long as there are dindus around, sticker prices on the houses don’t matter.

5 12 2016
Thomas

South side rapist. Forgot all about that guy.

5 12 2016
5 12 2016
countenance

Also remember the original murder along 55, the first shot in the post-Giordano Michaels vs Leisure war, in the (again) southbound lanes just before Reavis in 1980.

http://www.stltoday.com/news/archives/a-look-back-st-louis-mobster-s-quiet-death-at/article_a95ba871-b6c3-541b-8d8f-6a5bed8f9544.html

5 12 2016
6 12 2016



