Just a Little Bit of Sleet and Freezing Rain

17 12 2016

Around the Metro

…But it hit at the worst possible time, at about the start of not only a Friday afternoon drive time, but a getaway day when many people will take the next week off, and are therefore leaving town to go somewhere else for Christmas.

I’ve written in this space in the past that the real difference between a man and a boy, regardless of chronological age and regardless of other circumstances and definitions of adulthood, is that when a foot of snow is in the forecast, a boy cheers, a man dreads.  That’s because unlike a boy, a man has somewhere to be and responsibilities to fulfill, and has to drive through that foot of snow to get to them.

Well, there’s talk that this little bit of sleet and freezing rain we got, while it’s liquid now, is going to refreeze once the temperature plummets again this afternoon, and stay a thin but solid sheet of ice all the way until Tuesday afternoon.  And I’m going to have to drive on it.  Sonofabitch.

Actions

Information

11 responses

17 12 2016
Lewis33

Indianapolis is a mess, all the Interstates are parking lots. Staties will probably declare emergency when temps drop.

17 12 2016
Robert

Remember when you were a boy?? Remember that flexible flyer?? Remember that big hill??

17 12 2016
countenance

They’re in archived file hierarchies, on a thumb drive, in my safe deposit box.

17 12 2016
UlricKerensky

Off topic, but relevant to your past postings on Football protests and intersections.

http://deadspin.com/report-minnesota-football-players-plan-to-boycott-bowl-1790167029

This was linked on Drudge….the players are planning a full boycott over this? A full scale clash of College Football and the justice system?

17 12 2016
countenance

Yes, I have that in the hopper, and I’ll get to it.

17 12 2016
Lewis33

Reports coming in of people stuck on Interstate for 8 hours, IN TOWN. Might want to rethink your trip.

17 12 2016
countenance

Not my trip. It’s just the normal commute I’m worried about. Even though I don’t have far to drive, any driving on this for any distance is risky.

17 12 2016
Lewis33

Re Football players. Look at that stock photo with only white boys faces, when all the accused are black! Where do you guys come down on this, Steve Sailer goes with the probably guilty because they’re black, while Voxday takes the grain of salt on any rape allegations. I admit I admire them both, so I can’t quite make up my mind on who has the better point.

17 12 2016
countenance

Now the team has turned face and will play in the bowl. I’ll get to that later today, what I think was going on.

17 12 2016
Alex the Goon

Black/Probably-guilty. VD’s vision is cuckblocked on this one. I love how these 85-IQ footsketball nigras are all-of-a-suddenly Constitutional scholars, protesting for the Due Process bequeefed upon us by our Founding Fathers and the Magna Carta before them.

17 12 2016



