They’re Really Gonna Do This To Me

25 02 2017

Denver

That optics are more powerful than abstract concepts is a concept I have understood for quite awhile.

For most of this past week, I was in Denver on business.  Two days ago, in the hotel room, while channel surfing, a local spot for the business organization of Ford dealers of Denver came on, and it lauded the fact that the Ford F-Series has been the best selling truck since 1977, that this is the 40th anniversary of the sales streak.  Part of the visual of the buy was a graphic that showed the numbers “1977” and “40.”

Like I said, optics are more powerful than abstract concepts.

You’re really gonna do this to me, world?

Actions

Information

10 responses

25 02 2017
David In TN

Whether you like it or not, the world does that to you.

25 02 2017
countenance

Time issues no pardon nor gives no forbearance. I’ve been asking it to slow down just a little, but it won’t listen to me.

25 02 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

Try being where I am, Count. I am rapidly approaching 68. Sometimes I will see items from my teens and twenties showing up in antique stores. Transistor radios, early stereo receivers, and open-reel tape decks.

(The first time I really started feeling my age was when a youngster, confronted with a rotary dial telephone, had to ask me how it worked so he could call his mother. Another time was when I explained to a co-worker the original purpose for letters on a phone dial.)

26 02 2017
Alex the Goon

You should’ve messed with him, and told him to tap the receiver X times (followed by a pause) for each digit in the phone number.

26 02 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

Gads… I wonder if any of the present exchange equipment would even recognize pulse dialing?

25 02 2017
countenance

Okay, will someone please tell me why I’m so fucking stone squirrely about 40 when I never feared reaching the previous milestone birthdays, and from what I understand, I won’t be so apprehensive about 50, 60, 65, 70, etc.?

25 02 2017
25 02 2017
egregious philbin

sorry, by 1977 music was bad again. need to back up a few years from there, hoss.

25 02 2017
Puggg

It’s not so bad. It’s like you said back a few years ago when I turned 40, that’s when they let you start making good money. And you were right, within a year I got a major promotion, and two more since then.

26 02 2017
hondo

Well, if you were black (sorry), you could take a month’s pay and buy lottery tickets using those numbers. Jeebus be givin’ you a sign!
Buck up! When I was 40, I was SGT ROCK.




