Accuracy In History

20 03 2017

Washington, D.C.

Inside Higher Ed:

Howard University is investigating an alleged incident in which a white professor asked his class to engage in a mock slave auction. News of the exercise was first reported by the Caged Bird blog, which did not name the professor or his department. The instructor reportedly was teaching Frederick Douglass’s slave narrative earlier this month and asked one of two black men in the class to stand up and be examined because he looked “healthy,” according to the blog.

“He asked me to show my butt to the class so that he could get a better sense of my worth and had the audacity to say that it was uncomfortable for him, too, because he’s a white man,” the unnamed student reportedly told Caged Bird. “He started propping my body up as if we were on a slave auction block.” The student said the professor told him he could stop participating when he felt uncomfortable but that he stood up “because I didn’t expect him to do or say the things he said and did. I didn’t sit down sooner because I was so shocked.”

Even though he was just reenacting the history of slave auctions rather accurately, my bet is that prof is gay and was making a pass at that particular student of his.  He wanted a quick peek at that which he hopes to tap.

Actions

Information

7 responses

20 03 2017
Sy

totally!! I was thinking the exact same thing as I was reading it. Prof also probably has a thing for rough trade.

20 03 2017
sondjata

” …asked one of two black men in the class…”

One of Two black men at HOWARD? Did I read that correctly?

20 03 2017
dk

Mostly black women

20 03 2017
Alex the Goon

No White coeds to rape.

21 03 2017
21 03 2017
hondo

But but but -I’m a Good white person!

23 03 2017
Truth-hammer

The prof was a poof and a jew. A jew poof.




