Ten Years Hence

26 03 2017

Your Blogmeister’s Desk

I predict that on my 50th birthday, the internet will be both significantly less important overall and in the daily lives of almost all people, compared to what it is on my 40th birthday.

And I am making this prediction even outside of the possibility of economic collapse or some sort of catastrophe.

What am I driving at?  Social media are driving us nuts and getting us at each other’s throats, and making people paranoid (sometimes justifiably so), and wearing down our trust in people and institutions.  If SJWs and the NSA get any worse, and there’s nothing to prevent them from doing so, then I can easily see within the next decade people in large numbers deciding that this whole internet thing is for the birds, and use it a lot less.

I can also easily see a “back to the future” trend for the less important internet, that it reverts to a Web 1.0 sort of personality.

Actions

Information

6 responses

26 03 2017
26 03 2017
Thomas

Maybe. But maybe what your 40 YO self cant see that my almost 50 YO self sees daily is my 18 year old and his friends can’t go more than a few minutes without being glued to his phone and the internet. He’s not alone.

27 03 2017
countenance

I see what you mean, and I’ve made the point myself about the lucky circumstance that for me and everyone about my age, half of our lives was pre-internet and the other half in it. And that, for 18-year olds, 100% of their lives have been in it, and virtually all of their conscious lifetimes have been in the Web 2.0 social media era.

I still think that my prediction is plausible even for the internet-addicted.

27 03 2017
John Vawter

I’ve been predicting an exodus from all things digital for a while now, but it doesn’t seem to be happening. I think it will require the development of some new whizbam tech to push us away from the screens, but I can’t see it yet. As for social media making us crazy, I’m seeing the same thing but I think it’s a symptom of the emptiness of modernity. What would replace it? Real life interactions? I dunno.

30 03 2017
Here’s What I Mean | Countenance Blog

[…] Four days ago, I made this prediction. […]

9 04 2017
Sunday Wrap-Up | Countenance Blog

[…] As I read this, I remember that prediction I made about two weeks […]

It's your dime, spill it. And also...NO TROLLS ALLOWED~!

