Pray For Our Host (Guest Post By Puggg)

20 07 2017

Guest post by Puggg

Yes, this is the same Puggg who sometimes writes comments here.

I am one of the very few people other than his close relations that gets contacted if something serious happens to our host, our blogmeister. Some time back, he trusted me with his important internet passwords, including e-mail accounts and the password to this blog, which is how I can even be writing and uploading this post at all.

Last night, late in the evening, I got such a call. He was sent to an emergency room, I know which one it is but I won’t say, with a serious head injury. Using my law enforcement powers, I back tracked the whole thing, from the nurses at this ER, who put me in touch with the paramedics who brought him there. The paramedics told me what happened as far as they were concerned, and pointed me to the black and whites (local police department officers) who responded to the scene. They told me their part and read from their report. From there, I called a few of the witnesses who provided their names and stories to the responding officers, and that took care of the whole story.

It goes like this:

Last night, in about the middle of the evening, around quarter to nine, which was around 25 minutes after sunset, our blogmeister and others were leaving an event at a private residence, again, I know where it happened, but I won’t say because of privacy, and because of snoops and trolls. It was probably one of these networking dinners that business and professional types go to all the time. A few of the people, including our blogmeister, made their way to their parked cars, and were on the street side of the drivers side doors of their cars. Our blogmeister was one of them. Well, what happened was that some slow moving car hit him head on, knocking him to the pavement where of course his head hit the pavement. The driver of the car, according to the witnesses, seemed to be “looking at a device” in their own words instead of looking ahead at the street, which means he, and he is a white man, was texting and driving, or paying attention to his phone while trying to drive. The detectives for this department have already put in a request to the driver’s cell phone service carrier, and if, or rather, when, they show that it was being used at the time the witnesses report he hit him, that may be grounds to request the filing of criminal charges against the driver, though Missouri laws in this area are rather weak and charges aren’t exactly a sure thing.

I am writing this in the noon hour on Thursday, the day after the evening this happened, and the last I checked, which was right about noon, he is still unconscious.

I will provide updates as they come, and I will also be answering e-mails that are submitted to this blog, and also e-mails sent to his personal account and business account.

Actions

Information

84 responses

20 07 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

Please send him best wishes from the resident grizzly. I hope his recovery is speedy and uneventful.

20 07 2017
Cecil

I am praying for him. This is awful news.

20 07 2017
David In TN

Horrible news. I hope with all my heart he recovers.

I’ve seen these stupid, selfish imbeciles on the road.

20 07 2017
Puggg

I might have mentioned here and there in my comments around here that I’m LEA. I’ve seen more bad things happen, including the worst thing possible, happen, because of people too busy on their phones when they should be looking at the road and highway, than I ever want to, and I know I haven’t seen the end of it. This means I know our host got off easy because the guy was driving slow. Now it comes down to a matter of how easy.

20 07 2017
Cecil

Thank you for posting and please keep us updated. You are truly a great and noble friend to our Blogmeister for doing this.

20 07 2017
Stan d Mute

What’s LEA vs LEO?

I’m in a more dangerous profession and put in absurd amounts of hours traveling by plane, train, and automobile. Millions of air miles, more millions of road miles, and train miles only in DC to Boston corridor which is more than I’d like but better than MARTA or BART. The thing is, I’m totally comfortable sleeping on a plane and often snooze before we push off the gate and awaken only upon landing. So too on Amtrak and LIRR. But driving I see nothing but stupid people staring at their damn phones. 50mph in the left lane on a restricted access highway or tollway where traffic flows at 80mph while oblivious to the hazard they create and fixated on some pointless text. Or drifting into faster lanes or drifting onto the shoulder while tap, tap, tapping away.

I’ve seen a full load of steel rod clear dozens of cars and tractor trailers from existence and making all their occupants into hamburger to be washed off the highway. I was first to come across a nightmare decapitation of mom and dad with an infant unhurt in his car seat in back. My buddy and I did CPR on a couple in the highway median until I couldn’t and puked my guts up (they didn’t make it). But bad as car v car or truck v car may be, car or truck v pedestrian is just foul and truly unforgivable. Nothing pisses me off more than idiots speeding on residential streets or in areas with pedestrians. And that’s coming from a guy who frequently is in triple digits on the highway and has hit 168 on I-75, US-23, and I-80. Speed is NOT the problem, carelessness and stupidity are.

20 07 2017
DK

Lord have Mercy on the Blog meister

20 07 2017
MarxFreeTV

Prayers up for a speedy recovery.

20 07 2017
Puggg

Cecil,

I was hoping one weekend soon we’d be able to get together and get on some bikes and pop some wheelies on the school to prison pipeline. Now that I think about that, it might be awhile before he can even drive a car. Now that I think about car, I realize that his car is still parked where this all happened, so when I go visit him in a few hours and hopefully he’ll be back in the conscious world by then, I’ll have the nurse look in his belongings to see if his car keys are there so I can drive his car and park it in the driveway of Chateau Puggg, instead of leaving it parked on a street where it could get a ticket because it blocked the street sweeper.

20 07 2017
David In TN

I hope you can give us a (favorable) update as soon as possible.

20 07 2017
notsam

Praying for a rapid recovery. Thanks for having his back.

20 07 2017
Harlan

Please be a hoax.
Though I do not know our blogmeister, happening upon his blog I don’t know how, he has become part of my daily life. His insight is always enlightening.
God bless.

20 07 2017
Puggg

Not a hoax. Unless he has an identical twin.

20 07 2017
UlricKerensky

I’ll curse in private.

Our best wishes for him.

20 07 2017
Lewis33

Hoping for a speedy recovery, get well soon Count.

20 07 2017
Alex the Goon

God, this is awful. Praying for a full recovery.

20 07 2017
Stan d Mute

Thanks Puggg.

I don’t know our host personally, but we’ve traded emails and comments for years. Give him my best for a speedy recovery.

20 07 2017
Cranmer

I keep waiting for the Tony Messenger column ‘local thorn in my side gets what’s coming to him’

Hoping and praying for a speedy recovery

20 07 2017
John Vawter

This is awful. I hope he makes a full and speedy recovery. He’s younger than I am.

20 07 2017
Puggg

Stan D Mute

LEA is law enforcement agency, LEO is law enforcement officer.

20 07 2017
Puggg

Okay, here’s where we’re at tonight.

– He’s still unconscious. More than 24 hours after the fact. The more time goes on while that’s still the case, the more the worrying sets in.

– But there’s no spinal cord injury, no skull fractures, no seizures, no brain bruising

– The doctors say that even though this is a real serious concussion, that it’s no more serious than a concussion, on the traumatic brain injury set of classifications.

– But they also say that if he’s unconscious for this long based on a concussion, even a real serious one, that even when he does come to, he’s going to be slow to recover

– I did get his car keys and thanks to a colleague coming with me, I drove his car back to my house while my colleague drove my truck following me. So his car is safe and sound and will be citation free in an Arnold driveway. Problem is this, it might be a long time before he can drive it or any car.

– I met his uncle this evening, his uncle is one of the people like me who he gave legal rights to in the case of his incapacitation, and he’ll be staying with his uncle when he gets discharged in order to recover, because he lives alone otherwise.

20 07 2017
David In TN

Thanks for the update.

20 07 2017
Thomas

God Bless, and God Speed to him. I also don’t know him personally but have been following the blog for a few years. Will keep him in my prayers. I’m old fashioned that way.

21 07 2017
Stan d Mute

Let’s stay focused on Puggg’s good news:

“– But there’s no spinal cord injury, no skull fractures, no seizures, no brain bruising

– The doctors say that even though this is a real serious concussion, that it’s no more serious than a concussion, on the traumatic brain injury set of classifications”

Guys, doctors *always* soft-pedal this sort of thing so they don’t “raise hopes” too much. But this is great news. A car v pedestrian incident could have been SO much worse. Look at all the “knockout game” deaths and lifelong brain trauma!

If it takes our host some time to recover, he has family, friends like Puggg, hopefully business associates who will stand by and support him, and of course all of us in his corner. Bottom line is he’s alive, should remain so a very long time (he’s a relatively young man, and has a full life ahead of him.

21 07 2017
Puggg

Friday morning update.

Good news, he’s awake. Not talking yet, and not moving much. But, the nurses tell me his hearing works, because he’s responding to their questions with number-of-eye-blinks responses. They’ve told him what happened, where he is and why he’s there, and according to his eye blinks, he understands. I’m going to visit him in the noon hour, and if nobody else he knows visits him before then, my visit to him will serve as a test, to see if his brain is working well enough to remember familiar people from before the concussion.

21 07 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

Good morning, Puggg. When you see him, and if he is in good enough shape for you to do so, tell him the parens grizzly sends greetings and best wishes. We’ve corresponded a bit on the side via email a few times. Thanks very much.

21 07 2017
David In TN

Thank goodness. We hope he progresses from here on.

21 07 2017
Stan d Mute

Neither you nor we should be alarmed if he doesn’t remember immediately. He had his bell rung exceptionally hard to be out that long. Let’s focus on the fact that there was no significant bruising, bleeding, and no structural damage. He’s awake and aware of his surroundings. Give him a couple of days before you ask or expect anything from him and just be happy he’s still with us. He will recover in full and I’m sure in short order.

21 07 2017
notsam

Good news indeed….thanks

21 07 2017
MarxFreeTV

good news :)

21 07 2017
Nicholas Stix

I’m not a religious man, and I don’t think the Blogmeister is, either, but I’m praying for a full recovery, and that the dirtbag who did this is seriously prosecuted.

At least the Blogmeister is alive and awake. Thank goodness, for that! Please give him the best wishes form the Stix family when next you see him. (He’s got more than one fan here.)

21 07 2017
Puggg

Don’t bet anything you love on him being prosecuted. I know, the only tickets I can write for distracted driving through the use of a device, sometimes called texting while driving, is if the driver is under 21. In this matter, the driver who hit him is 30.

22 07 2017
Nicholas Stix

Well, the state legislature is going to have to do something about that. If anything, it’s a worse crime, if someone over 21 commits it. We expect a certain degree of stupidity from those under 21.

22 07 2017
Stan d Mute

That being the case, about the best he can hope for is civil action and a fat settlement check from Mr Stupid N Dangerous’ insurance company. Maybe Dangerous’ premiums will go up.

22 07 2017
David In TN

Oh, his premiums will go up all right. I’ll ask my brother, who is a lawyer and has dealt with situations like this.

21 07 2017
Puggg

Afternoon update.

I wanted go at the noon hour, but work pushed it back until after 2 o’clock.

– The bad news is that he doesn’t recognize me

– The good news is that he expressed that he doesn’t recognize me by saying no, though it wasn’t very loud, and shaking is head

– The better news is that the nurses told me that his mother and uncle were in to visit a few hours ago, and he did recognize them with both words and facial expressions. That would seem to make sense because he’s known them all his life but me for only 6 years. I guess it makes sense that if you lose memories, the ones you’ll get back first are the ones that are implanted the deepest.

– The nurses are also telling me that he asked for water, even though he can’t drink it out of a cup yet, it has to be given through one of those dentist type power straws.

I’ll make another visit this evening.

21 07 2017
Cecil

Thank you and God bless you for the update.

21 07 2017
sondjata

Heal up.

21 07 2017
David In TN

In Tennessee the laws are pretty lax as well. A few weeks ago, a woman was driving to my house to clean it, which she does every two weeks.

She was hit head on at the top of a hill with a blind curve. Her car was totaled. The other driver was 100 % at fault. She tried to pass an Amish buggy and hit my friend. It was about as stupid and idiotic as what happened to the Blogmeister.

Well, the sheriff’s deputy came and interviewed everybody. The other driver had insurance.

My friend went to the hospital to be checked out. She was a little dizzy with a slight whiplash and a bruise on her chin but wasn’t seriously hurt.

She could easily have been killed.

For the medical bills, my friend went to her insurance agency who got the payment from the other driver’s insurance. She used insurance money to buy another vehicle. The other driver’s insurance company called her on the phone and asked questions.

It appears there won’t be any criminal action despite the egregious carelessness of the other driver. It’s all being handled by the insurance companies.

If the other driver had been a juvenile, it would have been in court. As it is, the other driver is well into her seventies.

The Blogmeister is going to have some humongous hospital and medical bills. I presume the dirtbag (as my friend Nicholas Stix calls him) has insurance. I’m afraid it’ll get complicated.

21 07 2017
Puggg

As luck would have it, one of the several people who got called upon him being admitted to the ER, along with me, along with his uncle, is his lawyer. The lawyer got in touch with both the uncle and me today, he told me when he called me he also called the uncle. We talked for a few minutes, and the matter of the bills came up. He told me that there are 4 possible paths to all the hospital and rehab bills being paid, and because this is private stuff, I won’t talk about it more than this, but he said that it’s really unlikely that he’ll even have to pay as much as a penny. It may be that a combination of the 4 paths help pay for it all. I also know from the responding B&Ws from last night that the driver has insurance and that the insurance checks out, and that the insurance is through a big company we’ve heard of, not some fly by night month by month hustle that plants themselves next to Department of Revenue offices.

21 07 2017
Joshua Sinistar (@Joshua06716)

I don’t want to “Alex Jones” any of you, but “White Genocide on the Net” Bob Whitaker died recently. It seems plausible that QD was just an accident victim, but I have a feeling that CIA is getting uppity lately. My spidey senses are tingling. I might have some dealings with these boneheads myself since I’m not always under a moniker like this and have real ID on fakebook for these boyz to know I’m not askeered of them. If you are on the Whiteosphere, you should know Old Man Donald Duck is not doing well. His whole team is being reeled off. Bannon looks gone, and neocohen Dr. Strangelove is saying Jeffrey Sessions is leaving soon too. I’m hoping for some real stuff soon. Talk is cheap. Looks like those boneheads at CIA are taking some action again. I might have to wipe their ass for them with their face.

21 07 2017
Puggg

Driver is 30 years old, driving a newer compact car, and he lives very close to the “accident” scene, which is an expensive neighborhood, put that all together and it means he’s still living with his parents. Not exactly CIA fodder.

27 07 2017
Joshua Sinistar (@Joshua06716)

Keep your eyes open. The system is shaky and they’re skittish We’re at the cusp of Civil War II and they know it They’ll try to take as many Alt-Right out as possible as they keep pushing that fag Milo and the Trucon fakes.

21 07 2017
hondo

Thanks P – keep us informed – if there is anything anyone can do – just ask.
Been thru a TBI myself – know the complications.

21 07 2017
Extropico

Thank you for the updates, Mr. Puggg.
May The Blogmeister be hale and hearty very soon.

21 07 2017
Alright Dan

Frequent reader occasional commenter.

I’m praying too.

21 07 2017
dlrisvh

Get well soon.

21 07 2017
Puggg

I think we should keep talk about this matter here, don’t let it flow over to AmRen or anywhere else.

I’m going to make my evening visit very shortly, will have another update after that.

21 07 2017
Puggg

Friday evening update.

Mostly good news

– He’s sitting up in the bed, and talking more often and with more voice volume.

– He’s got a really bad headache, as you can expect.

– He can fully move his hands, arms, feet and legs, fingers, toes, head. He hasn’t tried getting out of bed to walk around yet.

– He still doesn’t recognize me right off the bat. But the good news is that he’s now thinking well enough to have enough reasoning skills to know that I’m someone he’s supposed to know. Just so you know, with all of my visits, even visits that happen when I’m not on duty, I wear my uniform, because nobody gives me any problems when I’m in uniform, and with these late evening visits, the staff won’t give me any problems about staying over past the official visiting hours because they see I’m a cop. One of the things he said tonight is that since he sees I’m a cop, he’s glad that he’s in good with a cop and glad that we’re not enemies.

– I told him I know his uncle and mother visited him earlier today because the nurses told me they did, and I also told him that I’ve also talked with his uncle both face to face and on the phone. He said he does remember the visit from his uncle and mother from earlier in the day, and that points back to what I said earlier, that what comes back first is what is most familiar. I guess that if the situation was reversed, I’d recognize my parents before I’d recognize him.

– He now comprehends why he’s in the hospital, and he vaguely remembers the set of circumstances that got him there. He can remember “just standing there by the cars, and then something hit me rather hard, and I fell down, and then I was out.”

– I also told him who the driver was and that he was distracted from paying attention to his phone instead of what was ahead of him on the street, and that he was lucky to be hit with the driver only going at a slow rate of speed. I should add right here something I haven’t said now, but I now know that the driver did finally look up from his phone to see what was in front of him, and hit the brakes, but not in time. Just that alone slowed the car down enough to keep this from being any more serious.

– The nurses told me that one good sign is if he’s walking around on his own power by the end of the weekend, and if that happens, then the rehab will be entirely mental and cognitive, but a lot of his ability to mentally rehab is going to be iffy and up in the air.

I’ll confess to one thing before I call it a night.

I know the law isn’t on my side, and this is un-professional of me, and I’m normally a buttoned up straight as an arrow by the book cop, but twice today I used the broken taillight excuse to pull a driver over who I saw was paying attention more to their phones than the road, and sorta let them have it.

21 07 2017
Cecil

Please give it to those clowns texting! And thank you as I’m sure you’ll have saved a life! Again – thank you for these wonderfully detailed updates. I hope and pray our Blogmeister recognizes you tomorrow morning (I am on PST now). God bless you Puggg!!!

22 07 2017
Stan d Mute

Unprofessional my ass Puggg! You guys need to do far more of exactly that. Harass the dangerous idiots who speed in residential areas and pedestrian areas. Ignore the highway pilots doing 15-20 over focused intently on traffic 1/4-1/2 mile ahead.

I have a relative who was a Texas cop eventually a chief some years back. Policing was a LOT different back then. I know much of that is gone forever and I know many modern methods are improvements, BUT we’ve tossed the baby when we got all our fancy fresh new water I think.

But never apologize for interfering with a dangerous idiot and at least slowing him down and hopefully wrecking his day!

21 07 2017
Avenge Harambe

My thoughts and prayers are with the Blogmeister.

21 07 2017
MarxFreeTV

More good news :) When he’s up to it, let him know there are folks out on the interwebs rooting for him.

22 07 2017
Puggg

Hello Nicholas Stix.

The reason the laws on distracted driving only apply to people under 21 is because the General Assembly wanted to seem like they were doing something about it, but only wanted to apply it to a group with no real political power. 18, 19 and 20 years old, it’s presumed you can do anything to them and they are pretty much totally powerless. They can vote, but rarely do. But it’s also presumed that 21 and over are using their phones and driving for important reasons.

22 07 2017
Stan d Mute

Hey Puggg,

Not sure if you want to add new items beyond the updates on our host, but in the spirit of his cynicism here’s a good WRPT News item from Seattle.

http://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/crime/83-year-old-woman-sexually-assaulted-in-seatac-assisted-living-facility-assailant-sought/

It even has the Sailerism of the buried lede in the last paragraph.

22 07 2017
Puggg

I don’t think he’d mind at all, and I myself read news. I think what I’ll do tomorrow is do like he does on a Sunday, run down the few items I’ve collected and let you all contribute their own.

Take a look at the first item in that article in “Most Read Stories” along the right side.

I’ll be going for a visit this afternoon, and will have another update after that.

22 07 2017
Stan d Mute

I know David in TN and my friend the Infamous Mr Stix are news hounds first class so hopefully they’ll toss in an item or two until our host is back on his feet and at his keyboard.

22 07 2017
Puggg

David in Tn, I would not be surprised if the major insurance companies redline him.

22 07 2017
David In TN

Puggg,

Today I talked to my brother, a lawyer who has handled many similar cases. He concurs with your evaluation and doesn’t think the Blogmeister or his insurance company will have to pay anything.

Again, the medical bills the texting driver’s insurance company will have to pay are going to be very, very large.

22 07 2017
Puggg

Like I wrote above, his lawyer told me there are 4 paths to all the bills being paid for, and that if only 2 of them come through, he has nothing to worry about even as much as one cent.

22 07 2017
Puggg

Saturday afternoon update.

More good news. He’s up out of the bed and walking around, and in fact, when I got there, he was doing just that. His speech continues to get more frequent and with more voice volume.

The only problem is that he still doesn’t inherently recognize me. He does recognize me as someone who has been by to visit him and he does remember that in my visit of last night, he said that he knows he should recognize me but doesn’t. I told him this afternoon that I retrieved his car and it’s in my driveway. Even though he now knows that he’s now a long way from being able to drive a car, his or anyone’s.

He’s also starting to ask about things he knows he needs to be doing, even though it’s probably gonna be quite some time before he can actually do any of them. As far as that goes, the same problem shows up, he remembers actions and procedures but doesn’t recall people he hasn’t known in the flesh for a long time. Note to Nicholas Stix: One of the things in the “he knows he needs to be doing” is church, and his church is Lutheran Church Missouri Synod, because you wrote above something about you didn’t know if he is religious or not. I think his uncle has already told his church, because I don’t know which particular one he goes to.

He can now drink water and liquids out of a regular cup and eat solid food without any help, and he can also “take care of business,” on his own now, if you know what I’m talking about. On the other hand, he looks horrible, among other reasons, the last time he shaved his face was most likely some time on Wednesday, either that morning or maybe not long before he went to that dinner, either way he’s got three days of growth.

I won’t be able to visit him again until tomorrow afternoon, so this will be today’s only update.

22 07 2017
hypie

don’t know if the Lord listens to my prayers but am praying that He hold a protective, healing hand over our favorite BlogMeister

22 07 2017
Alex the Goon

Puggg, if you’re up for another Recognition Test, play this song for him tomorrow. It was the lead-in song for [i think] his favorite radio show 20 years ago.

22 07 2017
Puggg

I’ll do that, but I get the feeling that whatever radio he was listening to 20 years ago is going to be one of those things that will be long in returning to his memory.

22 07 2017
John Vawter

I don’t want to flood this page with comments, but I’m thinking of QD and thankful to Pugg for his updates and TLC given to our genial host. Glad to hear he’s improving.

23 07 2017
Nicholas Stix

Puggg,

Thanks for all your visits to CB, your updates, and personally, the info about CB’s church and Missouri laws. I just whipped this up, in case you can use some material.

Crown Heights, Brooklyn: The media have been hitting two racial stories in recent days set in this still predominantly black area that has, however, been gentrifying in recent years.

Not that it was half as poor as the media described it for generations. I had a Hasidic friend who, if memory serves, lived on President Street, where he was the poorest schmuck on the street. This was during the early 1990s, before and after the pogrom. His neighbors, all black, lived in much better, bigger houses than he had. They typically had husband and wife both with high-level civil service jobs, while he worked for a private, Jewish social service agency, and his wife stayed at home to raise their (then so far) three kids.

The area became notorious for murderous black racism and anti-Semitism in 1991, when blacks engaged in a pogrom against the Chabad-Lubavitch Hasidim. A driver on the back end of the procession of the Lubavitchers’ Rebbe (Grand Rabbi), accidentally hit two black children, killing one, little Gavin Cato. Blacks responded by lynching Australian rabbinical student Yankel Rosenbaum, brutally assaulting Jews, and destroying Jewish-owned property.

(The blacks did this because they knew that the Lubavitchers are lovers, not fighters. They would have never dared to do this to the crazy, violent, Hungarian Satmar Hasidim in Williamsburg, on the other side of Brooklyn. They’re the guys with the fur-trimmed streimel hats.)

Blacks, led by Al Sharpton, acted as if the driver in the tragic accident, Yosef Lifsh, had committed a capital offense. The late newspaper columnist Mike McAlary, who typically triangulated to the left, listed one case after another of blacks who had fatally run down whites without being arrested. (I can’t remember which paper McAlary was writing for at the time, because he was promiscuous, and constantly hopped from one daily to another, contract be damned. He died young of cancer.)

Story one: A black man in his twenties recently attempted to rape four different local women. The MSM are all in thrall to feminism, but they are even more in thrall to black supremacism, and so they have all refused to mention that the perp is black.

Story two: A white Canadian woman, Becca Brennan, opened an over-priced bistro named Summerhill. I know it’s overpriced, because its online menu mentions only dishes, but no prices. What’s the old saw? “If you have to ask the price, you can’t afford it.”

Racial socialists, whom the media asserts are locals, have posted signs accusing Brennan of being a “racist,” “gentrifier,” “colonialist,” and have demonstrated in front of her business.

The demonstrators’ pretext for the demos is that Brennan, who calls her restaurant a “boozy sandwich shop,” has grungy anti-décor that includes holes in the wall that could pass for bullet holes. Some media outlets assert that Brennan has recanted the claim that they are bullet holes, but that’s not at all clear to this observer.

Many of the demonstrators do not appear to be locals, as their floating rationalizations give witness to—they have remained in character for black supremacists, in changing the definition of “the community” from the neighborhood to all black people everywhere. (But the MSM act as if they were locals.)

All of the demonstrators are racists, but they do not all appear to have the same practical motivation. Some appear to be racial extortionists, while others want to shut Brennan down, simply because she is white. The media are glad to help, either way.

The comment section of the Gothamist blog, in which white gentrifiers with racial socialist politics profanely condemn … white gentrifiers, has 340 comments on this story, over 90% of whom curse Brennan.

In a battle between gentrifiers and black supremacists, it’s hard to know whom to hate more. A pox on both their houses!

23 07 2017
Puggg

I will be paying him another visit very soon, with an update not long after.

Later today, I’ll pretend to be blogmeister and write a quick blog post about what I think are the interesting stories to me over the week, and you’ll probably want to rewrite that comment there.

23 07 2017
David In TN

Several days ago, the Blogmeister mentioned the Christian-Newsom torture-murder case. When you get another thread up, I’ll provide the link to a piece I wrote about attending the 2012 retrial of the female perpetrator.

The case was severed with each defendant tried separately. This enabled them (and their lawyers) to claim “innocence” and blame the others. With each defendant having their own trial it made prosecution difficult.

23 07 2017
Puggg

Sunday afternoon update.

– Like yesterday, my afternoon visit will be my only chance to visit him today, so this will be my only update today, unless as always I get a phone call from someone, and the only way I’d get such a call is if something bad happens, so I hope I don’t get a phone call.

– To Alex The Goon: I showed him the video of that song, and while with his mouth he said it was not familiar to him at all, his face had that kind of expression that he maybe thought it was.

– Since yesterday, on his own power, he took a shower and shaved his face. The shaving part is a good sign because of the precision mind to hand motor and thinking skills it takes to do that successfully without cutting yourself in a lot of places. But that’s nowhere near being able to drive a car.

– With me, it’s the same deal as yesterday, he still doesn’t inherently recognize me, but does know that he should because I keep coming around.

– The nurses tell me that when his uncle was in last night to visit, they tag teamed with him to do some mental tests.

He knows his own name and date of birth. But when they asked him his address, he gives the address of his boyhood home, not where he actually lives now.

He knows his mother’s name and date of birth. But when they asked him her address, he gives the same boyhood home address, not where she actually lives now, which is an assisted living facility. He also knows how she made a living.

He knows his father’s name and date of birth. But when they asked him his address, he gives the address of a house in Affton where, according to his uncle, his father lived until he was a teenager, and at that time his father moved from Affton to west county. But his father doesn’t live in west county anymore, he actually now lives in hospice care. He also knows how he both primarily made a living and his main way of making money on the side.

He knows his uncle’s name, date of birth and proper address, though since his uncle has lived at the same place for as long as he can remember, him getting his uncle’s address right isn’t a surprise. He also knows how he made a living and before that his service in Nam.

He knows his late older uncle’s name, date of birth, and gets his final St. Louis address and the address of his place in the country where he retired correct, and in terms of getting his memory back, he knows that uncle is no longer with us, but he can’t remember exactly when he died (according to the uncle, it was almost exactly 4 years ago). He also knows how he made a living and before that his service in Korea.

– All of that points back to what I’ve been told often, that the oldest and longest lasting and most deeply planted memories are the ones that are coming back first. People that are newer in his life, either face to face, or virtual (like most of you), that will take longer to come back.

23 07 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

I’m very pleased that his journey back to mental normalcy is going so well. When you can, please give him my regards.

24 07 2017
WordPress Reader

Sending prayers and good wishes.

24 07 2017
Pangur

Terrible news. Thank for the updates Pugg. Prayers for C. and hopes for as quick a recovery as possible.

24 07 2017
Puggg

I won’t be able to go and visit him until this evening. If you’re here locally, and have been paying attention to the local news, then you can probably figure out what has kept me busy. For everyone else, I’ll throw up a link below. I’ve been on the other side of the county all day, and because of this, I’ll have to do some overtime because this has drawn down department resources and man hours county wide. Because of where this started and where it ended, I figured that he was white, or at least not black, because, in my experiences, when blacks do this, they generally start off and end in the black parts of town, while this one both started and ended in white areas.

http://www.kmov.com/story/35954931/carjacking-suspect-dead-after-shootout-with-police-portion-of-i-55-closed-in-jefferson-county

24 07 2017
Puggg

Monday night update.

He’s pretty much the same today as yesterday. They’re anticipating that they can discharge him maybe tomorrow or more like Wednesday if he doesn’t have any setbacks. The mental rehab is going to be a long slog.

25 07 2017
Stan d Mute

A long slog perhaps, but much faster once discharged and he can get back to his own cocoon. A hospital is a bizarre place for those who haven’t spent much time there. It’s really timeless – every day exactly the same and always the same kind of buzzing about by staff. Also, if you’re in or near an ICU, the whole “code blue” and slow code thing can be extremely disconcerting.

Anyway, the sooner he’s out, the better!

25 07 2017
Puggg

Tuesday afternoon update.

Everyone is hoping that this is just a minor setback, or that he just had a bad day, but in terms of both mental and physical, he has regressed today compared to yesterday.

25 07 2017
Olorin

Please try playing Wagner for him. Parsifal.

Also Schubert, Brahms, and Schumann.

25 07 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

I agree. And, maybe the piano transcription of Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll. NOT the Glen Gould recording; there are others and can be found at YouTube. At least for me, it makes the mind work in amazing ways.

25 07 2017
Cecil

Thanks Puggg for the update and your posts – you have done a brilliant job. You are a true, faithful friend and an inspiration to all. God bless you and the Blogmeister.

26 07 2017
Stan d Mute

I know your job doesn’t give cause for a lot of optimism Puggg, but I for one will hang on to my hope for our Host regardless of the day’s setbacks.

Thanks again for your care and attention to him. I’m sure he needs all of it he can get from family and true friends like yourself.

26 07 2017
Original Laura

I look at this website about once a week, so I am just learning of the blogmeister’s head injury. So sorry to hear of it — I am praying for his full recovery. I hope that the doctors let him go home soon. The hospital environment is so unnatural. All the days blend together.

Are his headaches lessening in frequency and severity?

26 07 2017
Puggg

I’m going to visit him this evening and because it’s one week after it happened, and to keep the comments on this post from getting too high, I’m going to write a new post, in accordance with the second week, and new comments can go there. Whatever I find out this evening, will be what I write in the new post.

10 08 2017
Gadsden Flag

Is there a crowd-funding page for him? I would like to donate.

10 08 2017
Puggg

There won’t need to be. Or, let me put it a better way: The odds that there will need to be one put up are very small. His lawyer, who, along with his uncle, are handling these things, keeps me informed about these kinds of things. I’m handling the important parts of his online life.

It's your dime, spill it. And also...NO TROLLS ALLOWED~!

