Puggg’s Sunday Wrap-Up And Open Thread

23 07 2017

Guest post by Puggg

As I promised, as our usual host recovers, I’m going to do my own version of the Sunday wrap-up.

1. The California community college system is mulling getting rid of algebra as a requirement. Pardon me, but don’t we do algebra in high school? Sometimes in middle school? I remember California wants to make all 8th graders do algebra, so what’s good for the 8th grade goose is bad for the junior college gander? Using my reasoning, they wouldn’t have been able to make it to junior college if they didn’t pass algebra to make it out of the 8th grade, so they should be able to pass a second time what they passed the first time. Also, they’re putting this as an issue for “people of color.” We all know who they’re talking about.

2. Oh boy, imagine if this was done fairly and across the board. We all know why enforcement will be a single edged sword.

3. It’s interesting, but I don’t have anything to say about it other than the way the headline is written, it makes you think that only men could take the deal, while reading the story informs us that both men and women have the offer.

4. Because this happened to someone who is in the same line of work as I am, this made our gossip grapevines.  And I can tell you that the reason why the lesbians fought was the belly button ring to begin with.  Plain words, that’s why the fight started, because of the belly button ring.  This makes it sound like the belly button ring was incidental to the whole fight, when it was the fight.

5. This is being talked about in a lot of places because of the clickbait nature of it. But what’s weird about it is that he’s accusing them of racism because they didn’t get out of his way. Usually their gripe is that you’re racist if you do get out of their way, if you are walking toward each other, and if you cross the street, he’ll say you’re racist because you’re thinking he’s about to do something criminal to you. They’re good for finding grounds to complain either way.

6. The restaurant wasn’t some fast food joint, so the waiters and staff had to figure that if she was walking in and sitting down and ordered something, that there was a good chance she was going to walk out without paying.  I mean, come on, how many 18 year old black gals who look like that have that kind of money?

7. If they didn’t want that kind of stress, then they would not have reared sons and daughters to do that kind of damage which causes them that kind of stress. To me, those are chickens coming home to roost.

8. Bill Nye turned into Oprah?  Oprah wants old white people to die, Bill Nye wants old people in general to die. They all think that old people hanging around is holding them all back from their supposed mythical utopias, but I’ve been hearing that sort of line all my life, and old people have been dying off for as long as I’ve been alive, and we haven’t hit utopia yet.  What I think Bill Nye really means is that old people aren’t voting for Democrats, and if we can just get them out of the way, Democrats will win, and we’ll live in an environmentalist paradise. There was probably a time when today’s old people were young people and said that the old people who were old when they were young needed to die out before they could have their utopia.

9. I think I know what OJ Simpson is going to do now that he’s free from the joint.  Hint:  Who was one of his defense lawyers during the murder trial?

10. Yeah, that’s right, keep on doing this, and you won’t have to worry about breaking into the hoosegow, because someone will willingly bring you in.  From the grapevine, these are a combination of local BLM and Antifa.  I’ve done my tour on jail guard duty, and even a close to 100% white jail, and I’m referring to jail, not prison, is a place where you really don’t want to be.

11. Our host predicted this, and whenever he gets coherent enough to start understanding such things, I’m sure he’ll feel vindicated.

This is also an open thread, so if any of you have some interesting stuff from the week to put your two cents in, by all means be my guest.

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 07 2017
Alright Dan

#9 – I think that was actually one of the terms of his parole, that, if they let him out, that he join that “Keeping Up” show.

Let me add one myself and comment.

http://www.startribune.com/target-ceo-says-latinos-are-shopping-less-weighs-in-on-amazon-whole-foods-deal/435209453/

Why I’m scratching my head is I thought that the Latinos tended to Walmart (I know it’s called Wal-Martinez around these parts for that reason), so why would Target, which (ahem) targets a shopper base somewhat more upscale, even care about Latinos?

23 07 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

1) I believe the reason so many don’t understand algebra is because it is – and was for decades – taught so atrociously. I went to school in California in the days when their schools were among the top in the nation. Yet, I failed it twice in high school. A teacher at Portland Community College taught it so well that I did fine with it.

5) The sidewalk incident: sometimes it boils down to this: some people aren’t happy unless they are miserable. I grew up around ((( people ))) * like that, and it’s not pleasant. Racism may have nothing to do with it, but note I said MAY

* I am of ((( ))) heritage but being miserable for sport is one of many things I rejected, and one of several reasons I walked away from it.

23 07 2017
BJ

Re: Target

Look at this week’s ad. There are nine human models in the circular (ignoring pictures on product boxes). Only one of those is white. Three are black, three are Hispanic, and two are Asian.

It’s not a big secret that if a Target and Wal-Mart were side by side and a white person could find everything he or she wanted at both stores but Wal-Mart’s would be cheaper by 10%, a very significant portion of whites would still shop at Target to avoid the people at Wal-Mart.

The Target CEO blindly refuses to recognize that he will ultimately lose a large portion of his customer base by trying to appeal to the Wal-Mart crowd.

A few years ago I was trying to find a certain toy for my nephew. I went to two Targets. The first Target was in an area that was overwhelmingly white with a small percentage of Asians and Hispanics; the overwhelming race of the employees was white. The customer base of the second Target was was very significantly Asian (all areas of Asia) and Hispanics; Asians and Hispanics were the majority of the employees. The first Target was impeccably clean and the second Target, while not extremely bad, compared to the first Target was filthy and a mess. I would not choose to shop at the second Target if it was the one closest to me.

23 07 2017
David In TN

Several days ago, the Blogmeister referred to the 2007 Christian-Newsom torture-murder case in Knoxville, Tennessee. His biggest fan, Nicholas Stix dubbed it The Knoxville Horror.

Here (http://sprocket-trials.blogspot.com/2012/11/christian-newsom-torture-murder-case.html) is the link to a piece I wrote after attending the retrial of Vanessa Coleman in November 2012.

23 07 2017
Alex the Goon

9. I think I know what OJ Simpson is going to do now
Some folks believe that he sired the ugliest of the three sisters. But if this means that whole Klan is going to end up losing their heads, I’d be ok with that too.

25 07 2017
Thomas

Yay more diversity – Mexican gangs in the metro east or something else?

http://www.stltoday.com/news/local/crime-and-courts/men-open-fire-on-family-in-metro-east-before-discovering/article_4b62efc4-b221-57df-82c4-787112fad1dc.html

Any, refreshing to see some non-dindu shooters for a change.

It's your dime, spill it. And also...NO TROLLS ALLOWED~!

