Really Good News

31 07 2017

Guest post by Puggg

I’m still out of town for training, and I won’t be back home until tomorrow, and I already told you that my next opportunity to visit our normal host in the hospital would not be until tomorrow evening.  Well, I will be visiting him tomorrow evening, but it won’t be in the hospital.  It will be at his uncle’s house.  Because he was discharged today.  His uncle called me within the hour and told me that the hospital concluded that, in spite of him not getting better mentally, there’s no benefit from him continuing to be hospitalized.  By the time the uncle called he, he told me that they were already settled in at his house.

But now, the hard and long and hopefully not impossible task begins.  I’ll see more when I see him at the uncle’s house tomorrow evening, but according to the uncle, he’s sort of a lethargic vegetable.  Not really interested in much of anything, not talkative at all.  He’ll read and listen to and digest news and other things well enough, but he’s nowhere a mood for discussion or writing or creation.  I know he has his own laptop, and it’s possible that if he gets in the mental mood, he could start writing posts here again at any time, or write comments at other places, but I wouldn’t count on that happening any time soon.

At least we’re out of the hospital room.

Yes, I still have his car in my driveway.  The main reason why I wanted it off the street where it was on the night of the “accident” other than the fact that I didn’t want it to get any tickets, is because of what he had in the glove compartment.  It would have gotten taken away if the car was towed for some reason, or stolen if the car was stolen.  As of right now, that special little thing is in the safe in my house and not in his glove compartment.

I intend to make this my final post about this matter, which means all updates I can give you about how things are going for him will go as comments in this post. So keep it bookmarked, and check back often.

Actions

Information

22 responses

31 07 2017
Alex the Goon

What the hell? Do they -officially- break into every car they tow/impound, and “take away” whatever they think doesn’t belong in there?

31 07 2017
Puggg

I just wanted to be safe.

3 08 2017
Nightowl2548

I don’t think you’d want to take a chance with these towing companies. They’d probably demand a thousand dollars to get the car back not giving a damn why it was left there. You’d probably have to go to court just to get it back without their ransom fee. These are highway robbers, they make exorbitant profits towing peoples cars, the days a few decades back of the recovery fee being under $100 is long gone, they charge hundreds and hundreds of dollars for their racket and show no mercy. Don’t let these highwaymen get your car.

31 07 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

“At least we’re out of the hospital room.”

That right there will help get him on the mend. Sure, neither was getting my chimes rung, but getting out of the hospital (twice for abdominal surgery, once for knee rebuilds [both]) my morale and sense of well-being took a significant climb.

When you see him, give him my best. Thanks!

31 07 2017
Alex the Goon

“That right there will help get him on the mend.”
Yeah, being stuck in a hospital, especially in a ward surrounded by other vegetables, has to be a yuge mood killer. Just thank God it wasn’t a convalescent home. My grandpa got checked into one of those (the reeking-of-bedpans type), and being surrounded by skeletal zombies, some shuffling their wheelchairs with their tiptoes, caused him to just Quit. Refused to cooperate with the therapist, trying to revive his legs (which had atrophied by sitting on his ass all day for years). His obstinance caused the insurance to quit paying for his rehab, so he got moved to a private home – where he has continued sitting on his ass all day for years since. Only now he’s transferred his life savings to the tird worlders for wiping his ass twice a day.
I don’t know if he ever said, in his youth, “If I ever get like [that], someone please shoot me.” I’ve come to suspect that most people who say that, forget they said it, when they get that close to Death. They become more like children, mentally; and kids give their contemplation not to suicide, but to when they can have ice cream next.

31 07 2017
hypie

“lethargic Vegetable”, now that’s an interesting turn of the phrase… I could use a shot of V-8 about now…..

31 07 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

It’s what happens when you overcook them.

31 07 2017
Cecil

Thanks Puggg! I’m still praying for the Blogmeister and hope that his discharge will spark a few neurons.

1 08 2017
hypie

yikes, lethargic vegetable then dangling dendrites ? Am praying that singed synapses ain’t happening & praying for our fave blog-maestro

1 08 2017
Marilyn

Ok, that is some good news! Hopefully, having familiar setting and being around the people he knows and loves will help a lot. Will be praying for him!

1 08 2017
Puggg

I’m just a few hours away from visiting him at his uncle’s house. Going forward, all my updates about his condition will be here, and I’m going to do my best not to write another post about anything here, because I sort of want to leave the line open for him. It might be some time before he feels like writing anything here, and even longer before he can get back to what he was before two weeks ago.

1 08 2017
MarxFreeTV

Good news that he’s out of the hospital. Once you get out of ICU, a hospital is where you get sicker than you would be if you were at home. If he’s lethargic, perhaps limited doses of Lawrence O’Donnell would work. Just kidding :)

1 08 2017
Pangur

Thank you for the update. Prayers for a full recovery.

1 08 2017
Puggg

Okay gang, here’s where we’re at tonight.

He was glad to see me, but, as usual, he wasn’t in a talkative mood. Other than eat, sleep and use his uncle’s exercise machines, all he has done since he settled in to the uncle’s house is read printed books, read stuff on the internet, watch TV but only for local news, and listen to music, almost entirely classical or big band. Something makes me think that we should take that as good news, that he’s trying to whip his brain back into shape, but I also find the lack of talking and also on top of that no desire to write anything, here or otherwise (and he said as much that he doesn’t feel like it) to be a bad sign. Come to think of it, I don’t even know if he can type on a keyboard in the usual fashion, either that will slowly come back to him, or he’ll have to relearn it, the same goes for driving a car. Speaking of car, both he and uncle agree that I should keep his car at my place for the time being, because uncle’s garage only has two spots and both are used, and leaving it parked on the street would create just another hassle for them. As far as what was in his glove compartment, which is now in my safe, that won’t be a problem either, even though we all know it’s probably best he keeps some distance between himself and those kind of special friends for awhile, because the uncle both has a permit and carries.

I only wish he was wearing more than just boxer briefs tonight. Not complaining, I’ve done jail guard duty, so I’ve been around, it’s just that I’m surprised he was so nonchalant in that regard. Or maybe I shouldn’t be surprised. Uncle says that since yesterday, he’s only run around the house in that, or adding regular shorts and socks-shoes if he’s using the exercise machines. Since his first mental rehab appointment is tomorrow, he’ll have the occasion to wear a lot more.

Once again, all this show is how steep and long the mountain is in front of him, and not to expect any quick miracles.

2 08 2017
Alright Dan

TMI?

That’s not giving me pleasant mental images. Because he once used the slogan “I would rather be judged by 12 than carried by 14” as this site’s slogan.

2 08 2017
Puggg

Maybe not, but the one silver lining from all this is that he’s lost a lot of worthless needless weight.

3 08 2017
Puggg

Thursday afternoon, Aug 3.

I talked to him on the phone a few minutes ago. Remember I visited him Tuesday, but not at all yesterday, and truthfully, because of how slowly recovery is going to be, there’s no benefit to me going to visit him every day, because, remember, I have my own life. That and if I don’t visit him that often, he won’t think of his life as a big hospital room. I’ll likely visit him probably on Sunday, and on a once a week basis, if nothing weirdo happens.

He told me today on the phone that one of the things his therapist told him in his first out patient rehab appointment was that he used the words “creative churn” to describe what he’s missing and what he needs to get back. That, memory on the one hand and desire to create on the other hand play off of each other, and that he’s missing both, but that when he gets one back, the other will fall into place, and the engine will start running. But the warning here is that it will take a long time, that it will be a slow revving instead of everything just clicking on at once.

One thing he hasn’t forgotten about, even if the local news would let him, is the eclipse. Before all this, he had always planned to head down by Carbondale to see it at its best point, and he also said that if he’s unlucky, he’ll run into his ex girlfriend. That’s still going to happen, only his uncle will have to do the driving. Of course he probably wouldn’t have forgotten that, because as he said today, he’s known of this eclipse since he was 11 years old, so it’s one of those long time deep memories that would come back first. As the thing goes, the job is going to have me very involved in the eclipse, because its path will cut diagonally over Jefferson County in sort of a northwest to southeast direction, the path goes between Hillsboro and DeSoto, closer to DeSoto than Hillsboro. We’re expecting car and foot traffic to be heavier than a motha, so we’re all going to have to be out in full force to keep things in order. The crowd that comes to look at an eclipse, probably won’t have to worry about having to use the baton.

3 08 2017
Thomas

My wife is fired up about this eclipse and wanted us to drag the kids down to Desoto. Then I started reading about people from all over the world, not just St. Louis, descending on Jeffco – I think I’ve got her talked out of it.

3 08 2017
Puggg

I doubt you’d have to worry, but on this side of the river, in our area, the line goes just about directly from St. Clair to Ste. Genevieve. So you could plant yourself somewhere along that line and see it just about as good as anyone.

6 08 2017
Puggg

Sunday, August 6.

He and his uncle went to the county fair in Franklin County on Friday night, did shopping, errands and chores (with his mother in tow) on Saturday, and today, he went to church for the first time since the “accident.” His uncle is a lapsed Lutheran, but they went to his church together.

Other than that, there’s been no real improvement. I’m just worried that over a long enough time, if there’s no real improvement, that everyone who cares that much is going to have to bite the bullet and conclude that there won’t ever be any improvement.

6 08 2017
Olorin

Keep the faith, Puggg. There can be a long gap with this sort of thing…then a plateau triggered by who knows what. Then some sliding back, then leaping forward…it’s a bit like sailing. You can end up going in all sorts of directions, but with good navigation, a deft hull, and experienced hands, you get there.

Great to hear music is evocative for him. That’s meaningful.

Any stirrings of impatience on his part indicate traces of awareness that something is not right. IME that is related to the brain trying to re-access interrupted paths.

We had plans for Oregon but cancelled them upon hearing that something like a million people will be converging…and at the height of wildfire season. We’re in the 95% region, so I’m going to settle for that and hope for a clear morning w/o marine clouds. If no luck, we’ll watch it online.

Impressive that QD remembered/looked fwd to this event.

I’ve always thought that the proper term rather than patient should be impatient. Certainly my experience.

Best to QD and to you.

7 08 2017
Puggg

I really hope he starts getting impatient soon, because I think what you mean by that is that his mind is conflicted on the contradiction between his suddenly limited ability and what he knows he was and should be. But he’s just plain listless, in reality.

Eclipse, I think the reason he remembers it is what he told me and I think he wrote here, that he’s known of this eclipse was coming since he was a kid, so it’s one of those long dug in memories that come back first.

It's your dime, spill it. And also...NO TROLLS ALLOWED~!

