Hello World (Take Two)

13 11 2017

Your Blogmeister’s Secret Hideout

This is not a guest post by Puggg.

This is a regular post by someone who used to be a blogmeister around here, but now I’m reduced to being a mere “normal host.”

Are you all game for a little bit of good advice?

If at all possible, try to avoid getting hit by a car. Because it hurts really bad.

It ends up with normal hosts being abnormal for months on end. Among other undesirable things.

I never wrote it here, I don’t think, but I do remember thinking to myself and also saying to various people in various places in recent times that, in spite of my politics and worldview, considering where I live, where I can usually be found, and what I do, if foul play was going to kill me before my time, it was way more likely going to be at the hands of a white drunk driver than a typically dinduing dindu.

I’ll be damned if that almost didn’t happen. This close, in both circumstance and consequence.

Nevertheless, it didn’t, which means I get to give this “living” thing a second chance. For whatever it will be worth.

Another consideration is a pretty long standing phenomenon in my life I like to call the “July 20 Curse.”  In most years going back thirty years, something either really bad, tragic, very annoying, or very inconvenient, happens July 20 +/- a few days.  I certainly hope that, with this, my July 20 Curse has run out of tricks in its bag and leaves me alone for good.

Nevertheless, today is the first day since the “accident” where I feel like I have a level of cognitive function comparable in relatively high percentage terms to what I now remember I was before.  Which means today is the first day since July 19 that I’ve not only actively made phone calls, as I see Norm told you here earlier today, but today is the first day I’ve had enough mental capacity to have the desire and ability use the internet in an active sense (as opposed to mere passive consumption) since July 19. One way I can tell that this is the case is something I made it my business after I learned what it was (at the age of 12) to spout at any occasion when I either hit my head or feel light headed or queasy:  “Negative b plus or minus the square root of b squared minus four a c all that over two a” — Which of course is the phonetic version of the quadratic formula.  My purpose in doing that is a self-diagnostic acid test — If I try but fail, and I know I fail, then I get help, because I know it’s something serious.  Yesterday was the first day since July 19 that I successfully spouted it, much less attempted, much less still remembered that it is my self-diagnostic acid test.  Since I was able to do it again today, I know I’m on a winning streak.

In a little while, I’ll have a longer post which will go into some detail about everything.

I’ll say now that I probably won’t remember many of you inherently as I read your comments, because my memory hasn’t fully come back yet.

Actions

Information

27 responses

13 11 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

Welcome back, Count.

13 11 2017
UlricKerensky

It’s great to see you back, through it means the internet just got statisticly significantly snarkier.

14 11 2017
countenance

I have lost quite a bit of speed off that fastball. I don’t know if I’ll get it back over time.

13 11 2017
notsam

Missed you bigtime. Welcome home.

13 11 2017
Puggg

And now, the backup quarterback can finally go back to the bench.

13 11 2017
Stealth

Good work, by the way.

14 11 2017
Nicholas Stix

Thank you for all you’ve done for the Blogmeister! You are a heroic friend.

15 11 2017
Marilyn

You did good, Puggg :)

16 11 2017
The Gentle Grizzly

Indeed he did.

13 11 2017
Lewis33

Great news, welcome back!

13 11 2017
Alright Dan

Alright!

13 11 2017
H Von Dach

Been pulling for you Blogmeister – super news (say some thanks to St. Anne for her intercession on your behalf)! Thanks to Puggg for keeping the home fires burning, you have a true pal there.

13 11 2017
Stealth

What is the word for the state of being flabbergasted?

13 11 2017
countenance

Of all the comments written here in all four posts here today, this morning’s from Norm predicating my return, and then the three of my return, the only commenter I recognize is the one I obviously should, that being Norm himself. Of the rest of you, only Alright Dan rings a bell with me, and not so much for him as a person, but because it’s one of the old memes off the Frank O’Pinion Show, and I’m guessing because AD is a fan of FOP.

14 11 2017
Alright Dan

Right on. It changed stations while you were bonked out, he left 550 and is on 590, same time.

13 11 2017
Alex the Goon

Glad to see you’re back.

14 11 2017
Nicholas Stix

I’m not a religious man, but God bless you, and your uncle and mom and Pugg, and all the other people who’ve helped you get to this point, Goddamnit!

14 11 2017
countenance

Is this the Nicholas Stix of Nicholas Stix Uncensored?

16 11 2017
Nicholas Stix

‘Tis, but at the moment it is primarily the Nicholas Stix of the Countenance Blog comments section, who has described you as “America’s Leading Political Analyst,” while you have referred to me as “my biggest fan.”

(You also wrote to me not long before the cataclysm that only the two of us consider you America’s leading political analyst.)

Puggg had prepared us for your not recalling our names, so I expected nothing. Thus, it was a pleasant surprise to be remembered as a famous blogger and VDARE contributor.

Your amnesia with names and lower body strength issues notwithstanding, you seem to be doing very well.

When the Central Park Jogger (Trisha Meili) came back from her traumatic brain injury, she had to learn to do basic activities from scratch–like rolling over, and buttoning her shirt. Some things never came back (sense of smell and taste), and I believe she was left with lifelong balance issues and suspect that she, who had been a quant investment banker, lost as many as 30 IQ points.

Considering how similar the thinking in your post-cataclysmic blogs (including a little science) is to your pre-cataclysmic work, I’d say that IQ loss has been minimal.

16 11 2017
countenance

Well then, yay me, I’ve got someone that important who thinks that highly of me.

This kind of thing isn’t obvious because it doesn’t show up in the printed word, but I know that compared to before, I’ve lost a step on cognitive function, in terms of my apparent functional IQ, my speed of thinking, my mental acuity. You would have to know me personally and in a corporeal sense to know that this is true. Of course I know myself, I’m the world’s foremost expert on myself, and have been for over 40 years, so I certainly know it’s true. Uncertain about whether I’ll regain what I lost. If it doesn’t show up in my writing, it’s probably for much the same reason that even if you downgrade from a Bugatti to a Corvette, you can still comfortably do 120 on an empty freeway.

OTOH, I’m glad to know what I wrote in my posting storm was NOT mindless gibberish, so I’ve passed my own acid test.

18 11 2017
Hard Right

Considering how similar the thinking in your post-cataclysmic blogs (including a little science) is to your pre-cataclysmic work, I’d say that IQ loss has been minimal.

Yep. Sounds like he always did.

14 11 2017
dotacion

Been checking in every day since your accident for pugggs updates (thanks puggg!). Glad to have u back!

14 11 2017
John Vawter

This is the best news in a year of Mondays! Welcome back QD, and a huge thank you to your family and Puggg. From now on you shall be encased in carbonite every July for your own protection. I was an infrequent commenter so I don’t expect you’ll remember me.

14 11 2017
Original Laura

Welcome back, Countenance! I am praying for your full recovery, and that this will be the best and most meaningful Thanksgiving and Christmas of your life. Give Puggg a hug from me!

There is no reason why you would remember me as I seldom comment. You once gave me a list of all the public high schools in St. Louis when the population of St. Louis was at its peak. It was quite a list!

Best wishes!

14 11 2017
Thomas

Welcome back. I was not a regular so don’t worry about remembering me, but I kinda of gave up on this blog after awhile. It didn’t sound good. Oh, and I sent a few prayers your way.

15 11 2017
Pinned Post (Newer Content Follows Below) | Countenance Blog

[…] Hello World (Take Two) — My first post here, two days ago, after almost four long months […]

15 11 2017
Marilyn

I’m just reading this now. I nearly dropped my phone when I saw your comment on the other website AR. I started visiting this blog more recently, but I’ve definitely prayed for recovery for you. Good to have you back :)

It's your dime, spill it. And also...NO TROLLS ALLOWED~!

